Mercietilley’s Weblog

The place to find nothing exciting, happening all the time!

The Power (or lack) of Connectivity June 2, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Mercie @ 3:43 pm

Well, its been a while. And if you think a bit about my title, then you’ll know why. Internet difficulties. My dad decided to replace our modem, and lets just say it wasn’t as easy as it should have been. Difficulties ensued, date of when the problem would be fixed was pushed back, several times. And then, I came home from a semi-harrying day at work to find…the internet was back up! A whopping four or five days ahead of time. To say I was thrilled would be a definite understatement.

Just the previous day, I had my friend Nikki (mentioned in a previous post, if you’re counting) post a note on my fanfiction story to let my readers know that my internet was down and would be for quite a while. Lets just say I was happy to prove that statement false. Not wishing to make my readers wait any more than was absolutely necessary, I posted one of the two chapters I finished during my little…hiatus. I’m fixing up the second chapter now, should be posting it up later today. But man did I have a lot of e-mail, fanfiction stories, and blog posts to read up on since the last time I was on.

Sadly, my mom’s not feeling too well. So today I’ll probably be taking care of her, finishing up my chapter, watching the pets race around the house with no halters on. Today was the designated day to give them their flea and tick medication, so the halters had to go until the goop dries on their backs. If you have pets, you know what I’m talking about, if you don’t…too bad. There’s even a possibility of baths for the two cats and one dog that make up our furry contingent. That should be fun. But we’ll see.

Before I forget, I must update everyone on the Stargate Thursday that came and went during my internet fiasco. Both my friends, Nikki and Brittney (Brit, if I spelled your name wrong, please don’t kill me…) were able to come this time, which made me very happy. We were able to watch five episodes in the four hours we had together, I was pleased. Lets see, we saw Brief Candle (they both thought the marriage cake scene was hilarious), Cold Lazarus (I think they may have been teary eyed, or maybe I’m just crazy), Thor’s Hammer (in which they both seemed to think it would be no problem at all for Teal’c to just walk through, despite my many failed attempts to reason them out of it), The Torment of Tantalus (which they both were very interested in, although I was sadly too busy making dinner to actually see their reactions), and Bloodlines (they enjoyed the interaction between Teal’c and his son Ry’ac, this not being one of my favorite episodes, I enjoyed Daniel’s wonderfully out of character outburst with a gun). Whew…this Thursday, Nikki is looking forward to rewatching Fire and Water (see previous post for her reaction) and I’ve sworn her to secrecy so that Brittney can enjoy it unspoiled.

I think thats about it, I need to get back to putting the finishing touches on chapter 8 of my story. Until next time, hopefully my internet stays with me for the duration. Oh and by the way, my friends said that my Velveeta shells and cheese I made for them was the best they had ever had. I don’t know if it really was, or if they were just saying that so I wouldn’t kick them out on the street. I don’t think I would…I’m a horrible cook. So their compliment brightened my evening immensely.

 

Leave a Reply

